• English (United Kingdom)
  • Thai ไทย (ภาษาไทย)
  • 한국어 (Korean)
  • Deutsch (Deutschland)
  • Français (France)
Path:Home • Uncategorised
You need to enable Cookies in the browser to use this site

The Itaewon Pool League Executive Committee would like to wish you all a wonderful New Year. The Year of the Rat (love the sound of that)!


The Winter/Spring 2020 season is well underway, and I am sure that you have noticed a major difference in the structure of the league this season. No divisions, every team plays every other team one time. With nineteen teams, that means that each team will have eighteen matches and one bye. Works out pretty well. There will be some blowouts, but it should make for a pretty social season with everyone playing everyone.


The playoffs will be divided into three divisions, based on final season totals. The top five teams will be going for the Erickson Cup, the middle seven teams will be going for the B Division Cup, and the bottom seven teams will be going for the C Division Cup. It should be pretty interesting.


As we mentioned at the Organizational Meeting, all teams need to pay their team fees (350,000 won) before matches begin on Wednesday, January 29th. I have already sent out messages to the captains of the teams that have not paid yet. Dom will be following up on that leading up to Wednesday. Don't make him angry. You wouldn't like him when he's angry.


Good news for our Korean players. A Korean version of the rules will be ready for the website very soon. We will let you know when it is up on the site.


We want to thank all the captains, players and bar owners for participating in our league this season. We hope you enjoy it! 

The season is over, and so are the playoffs.


First, congratulations are in order to the teams who came out on top in the playoffs.


Division C:

1st place - JR Pub Black Hole

2nd place - None this season

3rd place - Fat Alberts Scandal


Division B:

1st place - Bulldog Fireballs

2nd Place - JJ's The Pain

3rd place - King Pub Super Hustlers


Division A:

1st place - King Pub Untouchables

2nd place - Bulldog Super Strokers

3rd place - Scrooge Pub Abusement Park


The banquet will be held on Friday, December 13th at the Crown Hotel. It will start at 7:00 pm and finish at 10:00 pm.

It is free to any league member who has played at least 3 matches this season. 

League members with less than 3 matches will need to pay 15,000 won.

All other guests will need to pay 30,000 won.


As with all Itaewon Pool League banquets, there will be a full buffet, an open bar (with beer and hard liquor), individual and team awards, and a 50/50 raffle with a lot of excellent prizes available. It will also be a chance to celebrate the league, your teams, friendships and friendly rivalries. And, as usual, it will be a great chance to laugh at ourselves and at one another.


See you there!

It is with a heavy, heavy heart that I bring you the news of So Hee Yoon's passing this morning. 

So Hee was, beyond any debate, one of the sweetest, most generous, most beloved people in the Itaewon Pool League. The number of people whose lives she touched and enriched is beyond reckoning. There was no one who was more willing to help others. Her smile and laugh were infectious, and you immediately knew when So Hee had entered a room. Joy and laughter followed her wherever she went. 


So Hee was in the pool league from July of 2009 until our banquet last Friday, spreading her good cheer and brightening bars nearly every Wednesday night. Her sudden death has greatly shocked and saddened the Itaewon and HBC communities. She will always be remembered and loved.


As Korean tradition, the burial will be held on Tuesday Morning at 10:00 (2019-Dec-17) So before that time you can offer condolences and visit to Soon Chun Hyang Hospital, Room 307, located in 서울특별시 용산구 대사관로 59 (한남동, 순천향대학병원) 59, Daesagwan-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul, Republic of Korea.


Rest in peace , our lovely So Hee. We miss you already.



The IPL committee has decided, in the wake of the abandoned match between Catch Me Cats and Dolce Vita Money Shot, to disqualify both teams from this season’s playoffs. Both teams displayed little or no respect, friendship or hospitality to each other. By all accounts the behavior of some individuals (on both sides) and the language used was simply unacceptable. We are sorry to have been forced into this decision, but we believe the behavior on display from both teams falls well short of what is expected in the league. Our league was founded on the principal of sportsmanship and camaraderie, which was sadly lacking on Sunday.


We hope, in making this decision, that the IPL committee upholds the values of good sportsmanship. We would like to invite Catch Me Cats and Dolce Vita Money Shot to continue to be a part of the league and to come to the banquet on December 13th with an amiable, welcoming and conciliatory manner.


As a result of this decision, the IPL committee has decided to award the C Championship to JR Pub Black Hole with Fat Albert’s Scandal being awarded 3rd Place. The will be no 2nd Place team this season. Many congratulations to both teams on a fine season.